Dinner and the nursery

July 25, 2012 at 3:30 pm 1 comment

Hello everyone, I am back!!!

Well at least for the time being, I will probably be posting pretty sporadically since my time is very limited. I have been busy growing the baby belly and preparing for the new arrival. I also continue to work at the hospital part-time and work a contingent position at a smaller hospital in WI remotely from home. So to say the least it has been pretty hard keeping up with the blog with so much going on, but I promise to do my best!

Baby update: little Alanna’s (yes we decided on a name) last ultrasound was in June and measured slightly above average (in the 60th percentile). Everyone tells me that I have a tiny stomach, but I hide it very well since I am tall. My husband is afraid we are having big foot, but i assured him that the baby was not going to be that big. The doctor is predicting that she will be about 8#, but I am thinking that she will be tall like her mommy and daddy (YAY).

I will be 39 weeks on Monday, so only a week or so away from my due date which is August 6th.

On to the nursery:

I have been a busy bee preparing the nursery for Alanna over the past 4-6 months. It was nice to obtain what was needed over a period of time which allowed me to get good deals and also search for used items.

First on the list was a crib, the baby needs a place to sleep right? I decided to take a look at the options on Craigslist since this was a pricier item. However you have to be careful that the cribs listed have not been recalled and that they meet the current recommendations for safety. The one I found was fairly new and it met all of the safety requirements, yay. I love love love this crib, it fit my modern-simple style and it was about half the price of a new. The owner also sold me the barley used organic mattress and some very nice sheets.

Next I found the dresser at Ikea, which will also serve the purpose of a changing table. I liked that this dresser has a lot of storage and is long enough to put the changing pad along with other baby supplies. It is a great dresser for the price and Ikea is right down the road from us. I also wanted something that we could continue to use in her room as she grows.

I decided to go the cloth diaper route. Yes it sounds old-fashioned, but it is actually quit popular these days and can save you bundles of $$ and is better for the environment. No these are not your standard white cloth and pin diapers that your mom used when you were a little tike, these are the new and improved Cadillac version of cloth diapers. I decided to go with the BumGenius brand of cloth diapers since they have good reviews, are easy to use, and I can also purchase locally.

I found the glider and ottoman on Craigslist, this is another item that tends to be expensive so I looked at used first instead. The  glider is in great condition, and I had the cushions cleaned by a professional carpet and upholstery  company. We were then instructed by the cleaning company to spray the chair with Scotch-Guard  fabric and upholstery protector to prevent staining.

Then I decided that Alanna needed a book self to put all of her new baby books and decorations on. Lets just say Roy was assembling baby items for about 2 weeks, but I don’t think he minds since it means using his power tools. The Sloane White Leaning Bookcase came from Crate and Barrel. I picked this self since it was simple and modern just like the crib. It has the ladder effect so the bottom has room for a basket of toys, and tapers to smaller selves for the books and decorations. It fits perfectly in the nursery and is very sturdy and solid, however we did attach it to the wall for safety reasons.

I love vintage items and decorations, so the bookcase has a mix of old with the new. I put some of my old baby books, antiques, and keepsakes from family members onto the self which made it warm and personal. I love that we were able to incorporate meaningful items into Alanna’s nursery, like the small wood rocking chair that was made for Roy by his grandfather, and the wood elephant toy that was given to me by my grandmother.

Time for Dinner

This dish was a winner, easy and delicious.

Chicken Tamale Pie

Ingredients
  • 1/3 cup fat free milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon taco seasoning, divided
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper
  • 1 (14 3/4 ounce) can cream-style corn
  • 1 (8.5 ounce) box corn muffin mix (such as Jiffy)
  • 1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chiles, drained
  • 1 (10 ounce) can red enchilada sauce
  • 2 cups shredded cooked chicken breast
  • 3/4 cup shredded white cheese
  1. Preheat oven to 400°.
  2. Combine the first 7 ingredients (milk through green chiles), using just 1/2 tablespoon of the taco seasoning, in a large bowl, stirring just until moist. Pour mixture into a round pie plate (mine was glass) coated with cooking spray.
  3. Bake at 400° for 20-30 minutes. While corn is baking, toss the chicken in the remaining 1 tablespoon taco seasoning. When corn is done – it will be just barely set and golden brown – pierce entire surface liberally with a fork (it might stick a little bit to the fork). Pour enchilada sauce over top. Top with chicken; sprinkle with cheese. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until cheese melts. Remove from oven; let stand 5 minutes. Cut into 8 pieces.

Adapted from Pinch of Yum

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Skillet Lasagna + Baby P

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Rachel Gould  |  July 25, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    The nursery looks great. You have been busy since I saw you in June. Great job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


