Easy Peasy Sweet and Sour Chicken

February 2, 2012 at 2:56 am 1 comment

Well I think that it is time to break the news, I am 13 weeks and 3 days prego. Yes you heard right, I am entering my second trimester. So forgive me if my post are not consistent, or I get pregnancy brain once in a while (or all the time, which appears to be the case). I am trying to make dinners that are not too labor intensive as I tend to tire easily, but I am trying to keep my life as normal as possible. My husband and I are really excited, and everything is going smoothly thus far!

I will keep everyone updated on my progress and food carvings (I can’t eat enough fruit).

Dinner

Sweet and Sour Chicken

(Servings 4-6 )

Ingredients
4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
Salt and pepper, to taste
1 cup cornstarch
2 eggs, beaten
1/4 cup canola oil
¾ cup sugar
4 tablespoons ketchup
½ cup vinegar
1 tablespoon soy sauce
2 cloves garlic, minced
Cooked rice

Directions
Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  Cut boneless chicken breasts into chunks. Season with salt and pepper. Dip chicken in beaten egg, then in cornstarch. Fry in a little oil until brown but not cooked through. Place in a single layer in a baking dish.  In a medium bowl, combine sugar, ketchup, vinegar, soy sauce and garlic.  Mix well and pour over chicken.  Bake for one hour, turning chicken halfway through cooking so it is evenly coated with the sauce. Serve over rice.


Adapted from Let’s Dish

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Weekly Menu + Meatless Monday Woodard Hamburger Soup

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Susie  |  February 2, 2012 at 3:10 am

    Congratulations! You and Roy will be wonderful parents. We are so happy for you. We send lots of Best Wishes. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


