Birthday Weekend = 30

October 13, 2011 at 12:56 am 2 comments

Yes it is true, I am officially 30 years old as of Saturday October 8th, 2011. I do not feel any different and no I am not freaking out. Maybe I will have my breakdown at 40 years old?

My birthday weekend stated with a shopping trip with my mom in Marshall Michigan, where my husband grew up, and in which his family still resides. Marshall is a national historic landmark district, beautiful old homes line the streets and downtown has many shopping and dinning options.

If you go to Marshall you must experience Schuler’s Restaurant and Pub, which has provided fine food and drink since 1909. This is personally my favorite place to dine while in Marshall, the food is always good and the service is excellent. The restaurant portion provides a great atmosphere for a special occasion, while the pub provides a casual area to grab some lunch or late night grub and drinks!

We took advantage of the outdoor seating to soak up the sun one last time before dare I say it – Winter.

I ordered the grilled cheese sandwich and tomato basil soup, while my mom decided on the fish tacos. Both were excellent choices!

After lunch we headed over to the Honolulu House Museum, currently the headquarters of the Marshall Historical Society since 1962. The house was built-in 1860 by Abner Pratt, the first US consul to the Hawaiian Islands. The architecture reflects the first owners love for the tropics with a blend of Polynesian, Italianate, and Gothic Revival, however this style of house did not fare well in the hash winters of Michigan.

The Brooks Memorial Fountain, a lovely Greek Revival structure which features a regular evening color light show. Located at the entrance of the downtown area, this fountain was given to the city in 1930 for its centennial celebration by Harold C. Brooks in memory of his father.

We spent the majority of our time shopping in many of the antique and home interior stores. I ended up getting art deco bookends as a gift from my mom from one of the antique shops. Wine tasting at the Flower Haus/Warner Wines provided a great ending to a wonderful day.

Of course I had to cuddle with the Quinster when I got home.

Saturday started with trail riding with family and friends,then a plane ride with Roy’s uncle, and great food made on the grill by my dad =  A PERFECT 30th BIRTHDAY!! Thanks everyone for making this day so special.

Friends Scott and Kay.

My horse Checkers.

Sunday I made breakfast with my family, and picked pumpkins and vegetables from the garden.

Breakfast was cinnamon waffles with raspberry topping, and sausage.

The end of a wonderful weekend.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Red October Run Time to recover (Vegas)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susie  |  October 13, 2011 at 1:12 am

    Happy Birthday Erica! Your weekend sounds wonderful and you and your mom look so cute in all of the pictures. I love your blog and all of your awesome food ideas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


