Bridal Shower

August 23, 2011 at 4:21 pm 1 comment

Last weekend I hosted my cousins (Katherine) bridal shower with my family (mom, sister and I). We had a great time planning for this event, and it is such a wonderful feeling when you get to create special memories for someone you love.

My sister took priority over the gifts, she is a great shopper and finds the cutest stuff. Every time you get a gift from her you know that it is well thought out and has a specific purpose.

My mom provided the location (her house), and flowers from the garden for decorations. Plus some yummy vegetables from the garden.

I took on the menu planning, and a scrap booking project.

These tasty little bites were fun to make and added some crunchy texture to the menu : Wonton Napoleons. I did not have time to add the fun ingredients to the top, maybe next time. Who doesn’t like a fancy cheese and crackers?

Balsamic Marinated Shrimp with Balsamic Cocktail Sauce on the side. The sauce was on the spicy side, which the bride to be really enjoyed : ) . I only used a count of 35-40 frozen tail on shrimp, and made the full amount of cocktail sauce.

This Strawberry Fields Salad was a crowd pleaser, everyone went back for more. I doubled the recipe, added chicken and used green tomatoes from the garden. The dressing was store-bought (poppy-seed) and served on the side. The buffet included fresh fruit skewers made with melon, grapes, pineapple and strawberries.

The cupcakes and frosting were prepared the day before, which provided ample time for taste testing by my family (mainly my dad). At the end of the day, I think that the Vanilla Cupcakes with Chocolate Buttercream came out on top. The Chocolate Cupcakes were slightly bland (not as chocolatey as I wanted) and the texture was dense, so I think that I will be trying a different recipe next time. The Vanilla Buttercream turned out to be a winner also.

I made 30 vanilla cupcakes as the recipe called for since I wanted some leftovers, with this recipe I cut back on the baking powder (I used 3/4 tablespoon) slightly related to the reviews. I cut the vanilla buttercream recipe in half so that I would have about the same amount compared to the chocolate. I ended up having plenty of frosting for both of the flavors.

Of course I had to buy sprinkles in the brides wedding colors.

The beverages included iced tea and sparkling wine punch.

A craft station was set up with an expandable scrapbook, scissors, double-sided tape, stickers, glitter, pens, markers, craft paper and other supplies. During the shower, guests can take turns designing their pages to be added to a scrapbook for the bride as a keepsake. All of the guest wrote advice cards, I thought it was important the bride to be had something to look back on to remember this special time in her life.

Family decorating pages for the book (Kitty and Lindsay).

There was lots of eating, laughing, and gift-opening. A big thanks to everyone who helped, and super thanks to my mom, we always make a great team! I am looking forward to seeing family and friends on Katie’s wedding day in October. See you then!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Back to cooking Zucchini Please

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  August 26, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    Thanks for all your good cooking and the great recipes for the shower. The food was wonderful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


