Home bound!

February 9, 2011 at 2:25 am 1 comment

Very excited that my first post includes a nice visit home (Michigan) and lots of cooking with my family!

Roy and I came home for a long weekend which included a visit with both of our family’s. Since Valentines day was right around the corner I decided to bake a chocolate cake which has been planned for months as my “I Love You” gesture to Roy. I thought it would be a perfect gift since “The way to a man’s heart is through his stomach” right? Well at least for Roy it is, he loves his treats. It was perfect timing since we could share the cake with everyone! I knew that it would not last long with both my dad and Roy around, it was gone within 3 days flat. Glad it was more of a love gesture to my whole family.

Happy Valentines Day!!!

After picking up some ingredients at the grocery store, Mom and I started to bake the chocolate cake.


I followed the recipe exactly, but I only had two 9 inch cake pans so the extra batter made some delicious cupcakes. Since the pans were smaller I baked the cakes for about 45-50 minutes. The cake was nice and moist, and the frosting was amazing!

Dinner was also very good. Lots of veggies and some grilled steak, with garlic mashed red skin potatoes.

The veggies were simply sautéed in olive oil.


Garlic red skin mashed potatoes:
INGREDIENTS:
2 pounds red potatoes
3 cloves of fresh garlic
1/4 cup sour cream
1/4 cup skim milk
1/2 cup butter
salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS:
Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add potatoes and garlic. Cook until tender but still firm, 35-45 minutes. Drain.

Add in the remainder of the ingredients and mash with a potato masher or electric mixer.

(Serves 4)

The rest of the night was filled with catching up with my parents and having fun with the dogs. Oh yeah and devouring some of the chocolate cake.

My mom drizzled the cake with some of the gauche frosting that was felt over, she is a graphic designer so of course the presentation had to be perfect.

Quincy with my dad resting with full bellies.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Movin-on-over

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tammie  |  March 31, 2011 at 11:32 pm

    Omgosh! I just read the “Our Wedding” that Roy created. I was laughing so hard I almost pee’d my PJ’s…wait can I say “pee’d” on a food blog site? Haha! Erica this is a great blog. I too have always wanted to have a food/wine blog but just do not have the time right now. Someday, maybe!

    From one Foodie (RD) to another…have a great day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 7 other followers


